Site icon Find a Grave News

Helping members connect and collaborate

You are part of the largest international graving community in the world! We collaborate in our mission to find, record, and present information from burial records to preserve this historical record and help everyone discover more. Since 1995, when Find a Grave was created, millions of people have collaborated through Messages, Suggested Edits, adding photos and more. Over that time, there have been some members who have contributed and then left the site. In order to work together effectively, it’s important for members to know if someone who has contributed to a memorial is still active on the site. Then they can more easily connect about memorials, ask questions, and share other information.

We’re beginning a process to help the community know when a member was last active on the site. It will take some time to contact members that haven’t signed in recently. Thanks for your patience while we contact them.

If you are already signed in and using the site, Find a Grave will recognize your account as active.

Find a Grave reaches out

When a member hasn’t signed in to Find a Grave for a year, we will reach out to give them more information about signing in and share what could happen if their account is marked as inactive. 

Our support team is available to help if a member is experiencing difficulties with Signing In. They can be contacted through our Contact Us page.

If the member signs in, their account will remain active. If the member doesn’t Sign In to their account (after we have contacted them and they haven’t signed in for a year), their account will be marked as inactive.

When an account is marked as inactive, here’s what will happen:

Reactivation

An account can be reactivated by the member signing in with their email address and password. Please know that we cannot recover photo requests that were removed or management of memorials that may have been transferred to other members while a member was inactive.

If this situation comes up and a returning member would like to manage a family member’s memorial that has been transferred, they can contact the new manager using the ‘Contact Manager’ button on the Suggest Edits page and request management for that memorial. A photo request that was removed can be added again by going to the memorial and selecting ‘Request Photo.’

We know how much you rely on members being available and collaborative. We encourage all our members to sign in and keep their account active so that the Find a Grave community can work together more effectively. Thank you again for helping to fulfill the mission of the site and for your patience as we reach out to members about their member accounts.

Exit mobile version